Showing posts with label mileage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label mileage. Show all posts

03 September 2009

And at the end of the day...

...The grand experiment to obtain the most-mileage-yet from Mini-E #339 comes to an end.

From work to Kew Gardens to pick up sis... From pick-up to home... through some very light stop-and-go traffic....

But... Finally... Home.

339's now sitting in the driveway, sucking down juice. Her fans are whirring quietly to keep her battery's temp (which never broke 90-degrees today, BTW) in line with the ambient temps -- around the 70s -- during the charging cycle.

And the verdict?

Take a look:

That's right... 339's home with the potential for 52 miles-worth of travel. Fifty-two miles...

Add that to the 63.6 miles she and I have actually done today and you have...

115 miles

One hundred-fifteen miles, boys and girls!!!

Wow.

Seriously.

I am impressed.

Sorta.

I mean, yeah. Traveling (or "potentially traveling") 115 miles still can't compare to the range (and convenience) you can get from a conventionally-powered car. No, not even close.

But it's more than enough range for my typical, daily needs. And probably more than enough capability for most (if not all) commuters who drive to work.

And then there's the "hidden" bonuses from an all-electric car... No fumes from tailpipes... Much simpler mechanics (less maintenance)... The instant torque... The silence when pulling into the driveway late at night... ("Super-stealth mode, 339! Make it so!")

Still...

At what cost???

Driving no faster than 60 miles an hour with no heavy-footed acceleration -- even though those wonderful German engineers and eggheads designed my baby to go faster than 95-MPH?? And to be able to do so with no emissions -- except maybe a smoking trail of rubber on asphalt?

(Well, 339 could do all of that if it weren't for those pesky electronics, the speed governor and the vehicle stability control/tire-slip limiters!!! But I digress...)

Still, does being environmentally-friendly have to mean the death of speed, excitement, and good-old-fashioned-unadulterated thrill of being behind the wheel of a finely-tuned and well-designed piece of machinary that just screams, "Drive me!"???

Must we all, in order to "save the planet," give up the true joy of driving?? (Oh, the humanity, ladies and gentlemen... the humanity!)

Maybe I just need to get behind the wheel of a Tesla? After all, it seemed to knock the socks off of BBC's Top Gear host, Jeremy Clarkson.



Almost.

::sigh::

Maybe just as I've learned to (re)adjust my right foot... Maybe my "need for speed" attitude will (re)adjust as well.

Maybe now that summer vacation season is over -- and highway traffic builds back to the usual bumper-to-bumper stand-still... thanks to all those school buses and SUVs driven by multi-tasking soccer moms who just have to drive with one-hand on the wheel, head turned back yelling at the kids while gabbing on the cellphone... (But I digress...)

Yeah... Maybe once I get back into "real," everyday, New York City traffic-driving where it becomes painfully obvious that having a car that can do 100+ MPH is pretty much pointless since all you're doing during the entire commute is just sit... crawl... sit... crawl...

Oh, and all that expensive gasoline... just constantly burning away... while you sit... then crawl... sit... then crawl...

But I digress...

Anyway... Maybe I will soon have a complete attitude adjustment since school after Labor Day.

Maybe I'll be wooed once again at how 339's silent and comfy "cockpit" magically transforms those maddeningly slow "rush" hour commutes into a Zen-like experience.

Maybe.

Thankfully, I'll have about 10 more months with 339 to find out! :-)

Maybe. (Still waiting to hear from BMW about "faulty battery module #42.") Read more!

A very "rewarding" (but b-o-o-r-r-r-ing) drive

I think I should probably really title today's post, "Learning a valuable lesson."

The lesson?

"Moderate right foot, go further in Mini-E."

I think. ;-)

You see, I haven't been in a "speedy" mood over the last couple of days... No compelling need or desire to get to work in a hurry. (Go figure!) Or, oddly enough, have I felt the need to rush home lately. (Very strange, indeed!)

Add to that nonchalance, yesterday's news about my Mini's "faulty battery module #42" and well... But let me start at the very beginning so you understand how I came to learn this "valuable" lesson in Mini-E energy economics.

You see, when I stepped outside of my house this morning, I was greeted with lovely 73-degree temperatures and slightly overcast skies.

Mmmm... The perfect autumn day. Too bad, we're technically still in "summer." (Autumnal equinox is still 19 days away, kids.) But I digress...

Anyway... Stepping into 339 this fine and lovely mornin' and starting her up, I was greeted with a lovely surprise.

Battery charge = 100%

Ok, that's good, Mini-E...

Estimated range = 104 miles

What?

Estimated range = 104 miles.

Huh?? I finally got triple-digit range on the battery? How did that happen? Was it the cooler weather? (The absence of the angry buzz of 339's battery fans during last night charging was a welcome relief.) The faulty battery module? The stars and planets all in perfect alignment? What could be causing this boost into this promised land of 100-miles (and more!) in 339?

Oh, wait... That's right... I drove home at a sedate pace of 60-MPH ("Snoozer-ville" for me...) last night.

Really.

After picking up sis from her Manhattan office late last night, I drove in the right-hand lane (the slowpoke lane) most of the way home, with only occasional "squirts" into the 70+ mile per hour range... You know, just to pass the lunkheads who think even 55-MPH is too fast! (At least those really, really, REALLY slow drivers were in the correct lane. After all, everyone KNOWS the road rule: "Slow traffic, KEEP RIGHT!" Right? But I digress...)

According to page 40 of 339's owner manual, that "cruising range" readout is "calculated on the basis of the way the car has been driven over the last 18 miles/30 km and current charge status." (In other words, 339's computer uses DOPE -- a military acronym, "Data On Previous Engagement," BTW. But I digress...)

Hmmmm.... Soooo... Since I drove the car so "conservatively" last night and now that she's fully charged.... I should get 104-miles out of her today?

Really? Let's just see about that....

Unplug from the wall charger.

Reset the trip odometer.

Reset the "average energy consumption" meter -- the readout that tells me how much juice I use for every 100 miles 339 and I travel.

Reset the average speed readout.

And off we go.

Drive local streets for 5 miles to drop sis off at the train station. Never went faster than 40-MPH. Coasted to each stop light to let the re-gen braking do all the work as much as possible. (Note: I even did not "speed through" yellow traffic lights, instead choosing -- nay, forcing myself -- to physically step on 339's brake pedal to stop at the intersection!)

Get on the highway. Here, I admit, I did put "pedal to metal" in order to get on the highway... But once "up to speed" (that lowly "60-MPH" benchmark).... That speedo needle never went north of that little mark next to "60."

Nope.

I stayed in that right lane, easing off 339's accelerator when I saw cars were trying to merge in... Yes, I actually slowed down... yielding to let others to get on the highway... to get IN FRONT of me (and 339)!!!!

Yes... I even let other cars and drivers pass me... on my left...

Other.

Drivers!

Even soccer moms
...

Soccer moms driving big, honkin' SUVs...

Soccer moms driving big, honkin' SUVs stuffed to the rafters with kids, dogs, beach umbrellas, and sleeping husbands/boyfriends/lovers...

Soccer moms putting on mascara, drinking their Splenda soy latte and talking on their Bluetooth headsets while driving big, honkin' SUVs stuffed to the rafters with kids, dogs...

Yessiree, Bob... I kept to the steady, 60-MPH cruising I promised I would do in this "experimental" morning commute to work just so I could prove and know for sure that "slow and steady" meant better driving range with 339.

Even if it meant I was getting passed by grandma in her 20 year old Buick... or getting bored to tears with how "mindless" this commute was getting.

(Note to BMW: Maybe it was wise that you did not put in cruise control because I certainly would've relied on it in this test -- and then allowed myself to fall asleep at the wheel because of the sheer boredom of driving at a constant 60-MPH for 20 miles! But I digress...)

Anyway... the end result? Look at this picture, taken with my cellphone camera once I pulled into the company parking lot and set 339 into rest easy mode.


Yes. That's right... After driving Mini-E "conservatively" for 31 miles this morning, 339 was telling me she was "good to go" for another 79 miles!!! A potential total of 110 miles!!!!!

On a single, 4-hour charge!!!

That is...

IF I was willing to tame my right foot!

AND endure the tediousness of life at 60-miles-per-hour in the right-hand lane!

AND accept that fact that driving at 60-MPH means practically every driver in New York will be zippin' by me on the left.

Honestly... The only thing that kept me awake during this morning's commute was that I was constantly scanning for the 1982 Yugo held together by Bondo, duct tape and baling wire that was inevitably coming to pass me! But I digress...

::sigh::

All joking and satirical comments aside... (Really... I have nothing against big honkin' SUVs, Yugos, fall weather, or "soccer moms." Well... Maybe I do have an "issue" with distracted drivers, be they soccer moms or corporate dweebs who feel the need to yak on their Bluetooth while behind the wheel. But I digress...)

Anyway... Putting all that aside...

Yes.

I know.

Driving 60-MPH (rather than the "reckless pace" I normally do) is just plain better. Better for the car. Better for the mileage. Better energy conservation. Better for the planet. Better (and safer!) for me... yada, yada, yada.

But dang it all if I can't for the life of me figure out why such "better" driving is such a mind-numbing, soul-sucking, joyless, heartless, sad experience? (Anyone care to weigh in??)

:-(

Needless to say.... Yeah, I'm looking forward to tonight's drive home.

'Til next time... Read more!

25 August 2009

3,000 miles later...

Yes, I can't believe I. Just under two months (I picked up the Mini-E #339 back in June 25) and I've already logged just over 3,000 miles.

And I'm still lovin' every minute of it!!!!

What's more, the timing of 339's "scheduled servicing" was nearly impeccable! After driving into work yesterday morning, I logged about 9,983 miles. Since BMW of Manhattan is just under 17 miles from my work... Well... I arrived at the dealership after work with about 3,001 miles on 339's odo!!!

Near-perfect!!! :-D

Still, it meant I had to leave 339 in the "loving hands" of the BMW/Mini techs -- who are waiting for the "Flying Doctors" (the gang of specialized Mini-E techs from BMW in Germany who are servicing all the Mini-Es in the U.S.!) to do all the servicing. Fortunately, the Flying Docs were coming to BMW of Manhattan today anyway to take care of another Mini-E. (I didn't see which one, though.)

Of course, nothing in this world is ever completely perfect. :-(

Since Mini 339 had to stay with the dealer (her "parents"??), I had to drive my Honda CR-V to work today!

Don't get me wrong. I still love my 12-year old Honda. She's a good old girl and I still need her since she still does things -- haul a lot of stuff from Costco, takes me and more than one other family member to the store, goes on long trips, gets me and co-workers to lunch, etc. -- that my cute and environmentally-friendly Mini-E #339 can't do.

And driving my red CR-V to work this morning, I'm reminded of how I "missed" those traits and other little niceties. Things like cruise control (Nope, #339 doesn't have that!) which can really help me keep my heavy right foot in check. Sometimes.

Oh, and a right arm rest for the driver's seat. Even though my sister hates the arm rest and always tilts it up and out of the way when she drives my CR-V, I love it! (It really helps when you're cruisin' down the road at a nice steady clip and all you want to do is "kick back" with your left hand on the steering wheel and your right arm just... well, "resting" on the arm rest. Is that SO wrong???)

And finally... The radio. I love my CR-V's radio -- an after-market Sony ES-series AM/FM/CD/MP3-disc/Aux input head-unit with IR remote control. It's not RDS-capable like 339's audio gear. But the controls are so much simpler!! Not to mention that I have a full four-speaker set-up in my CR-V. (Oddly enough, there are "fader" controls on 339's radio. But adjust 339's audio from "front" or "balanced" to "all-rear" and... Surprise! No audio! Why? Because there's only front speakers on the Mini-E since the battery takes up all the space behind the front seats -- the place where rear speakers would normally go!)

Still, this morning was the ideal commute with conditions that I know I would've been just thrilled to drive 339 through: Sunny, yet not hot... hardly any cars on the road...

In other words, I was c-r-u-i-s-i-n' down the road... music blarin'... blue-mirrored Wiley-X shades on... windows down... cool breeze blowin' through my hair... Just enjoyin' the ride with a smile on my face -- even though I'm going to work! ;-)

Oh, if only 339 were with me this morning!! (Oh, and if only she had the double sunroof option that's available to "conventional" Minis! :-()

::sigh::

Hopefully I'll hear from the Flying Docs later this afternoon and I'll be able to post something about her "check-up." Read more!

17 July 2009

Over 1,000 miles!

Yup, sometime during this morning's commute to work -- probably as I was crossing over from da Bronx into Westchester on the lovely (and very rarely traffic-free) Hutchinson Parkway -- I hit that milestone.

1K today!

Wow!!! Just slightly over four weeks of "owning" Mini-E #339 and I've logged 1,009 miles.

Yea, yea ok... technically "I" didn't do all those miles since when 339 and I first met, she already had 30 miles on her. (I suppose someone had to drive her around the UK where she was "born." And then onto the cargo ship to get her across the Atlantic... then off the ship in Jersey... then onto the truck carrier to ferry her across the Hudson... and then into the BMW/Mini Mahattan dealership... Whoa... So how many people are we talkin' here who might've been behind 339's wheel before me?!?!? ;-))

Anyway... There's probably plenty I can write about on this momentous day with my Mini-E. But since I gotta do my "day job," really quickly:

PRO:
  • 339 is still very much fun to drive!!
  • Driving by the neighborhood gas stations and watching the price of gas fluctuate is now more "amusing" than "frustrating"
  • I'm remembering how a "small car" can be a super plus bonus when trying to fit in a NYC parking space
  • More people at work are noticing how quiet and "special" 339 is -- AND stopping me in the lot or in the hallways asking for more details... AND rides!
CONS:
  • No more "new car smell" (although that might be a "good thing.")
  • A month into my 12-month relationship with 339 and I still ha`ve to get use to some "quirky" controls
  • Have yet to see "100-mile" range on a 100% charge ("94 miles" was the best estimate I've seen on her gauge -- and then actually travel about 80, and still have the "estimate-to-empty" gauge read "22-miles." Go figure.)
  • I have only 48-weeks left in this grand "experiment" with Mini-E. (Could BMW/Mini really take these beautiful cars and destroy them after we've driven them for a year? My heart breaks at the thought!)
Oh and to "celebrate" our milestone achievement together, I may be getting some nifty shirts.
Robert Ballard, who runs a nifty Mini blog called TwistyBlitz, has set up a shop of nifty Mini-E "swag." (Is it really "swag" if you have to pay for it? ;-))

Still, they're very cool shirts -- made of "organic materials," too!

And what will 339 get out of it? Hmmm... Maybe a nice, professional (hand) car wash and detailing. (I'd have done it earlier, but it's been raining off and on most of the weeks here in NYC. And this weekend seems like it's going to be perfect, sunny days!) Read more!

28 June 2009

Day 2: How NOT to feed 339 on 110-Volts @ 12 Amp

Mini-E electric Mini Cooper #339 My Mini-E field trial
This is my Mini-E's "scuttle," or "badge on the side of the car, showing it's #339 of the 500 Mini-E's built in Germany and assembled in the UK. Mini-E #339 and it's all mine!!! (Click to enlarge.)

I was really psyched on Friday. It was going to be the first full day where I'd be able to test my 339 in its abilities (and capabilities) as a daily, zero-emissions, commuter car. I mean, my "first day" was fun. But is navigating the mean streets of Manhattan or sitting in infamous NYC rush hour traffic a true test of 339's capabilities?

I. Don't. Think. So.

First, the data:

The numbers, in short

Odometer mileage, start: ~ 66 miles

State of Charge (SoCs), start: 80%

Odometer mileage, end: ~124 miles

State of Charge (SoCe), end: ~8% (Yes... That's right... Eight percent! Read on!)

Travelog:

Mini-E field trial 110-volt charging cable standard gear Mini-E pioneers battery charger Clipper Creek
This is the 110-Volt charging "cable" Mini provides to all of its pioneers. Does anyone else think this looks a bit clugey(sp)?"
Click to enlarge.

OK, so Mini tells us pioneers that it'll take over 26-hours to fully recharge a depleted battery using the 110-Volt charger. Unfortunately, that's all I have. (I'm still waiting for the contractor to come and install the wall-box.) And while I haven't completely drained 339's battery, I did drop it down to less than half (47%) capacity. Worse yet, I had less than 12-hours of charge time -- came home @ after 8 p.m. Thursday and I need to leave ay 7 a.m. or so for my usual commute to Westchester.

Surely, even using the 110- charger for 11 or so hours, I'll be able to get a decent amount of juice into 339 for my 60-mile round-trip commute, right? Well... Sorta.

First off, 339's feeding (which pulls 12 amps of juice) popped the circuit breaker twice during the night. Apparently, the outlet outside my garage wasn't an isolated circuit, but a shared one... Shared with my home entertainment gear! (And a dehumidifier in the basement.) But thankfully, much of my more sensitive gear is on an uninterruptible power supply so there was no harm done to my 57-inch HDTV. (At least I hope not!)

But watch TV... Or feed the Mini? Wow... tough choice! (How do you parents decide among your favorite children?? ;-))

Mini-E electric Mini Cooper #339 My Mini-E field trial fuel door charging port
This is what's behind the Mini-E's gas cap. And the "port" where you plug in the cable (see next picture) is HUGE. And take a look at the plug in the next picture. (Doc Brown of Back to the Future would be so proud! Also, check out the "No fuel" sign. Ha! If Electricity isn't a "fuel," I don't know what it is! (Click to enlarge.)

Well, it was getting late... And it was going to be a big day for me and my Mini-E #339!! Our first true test... What will it be like driving 339 at highway speeds -- maybe even faster, given my condition: pes pedis plumbum ("lead foot")? What will my friends and co-workers think? This will be both our "trial by fire!" Ooo... Big day indeed.

Little did I know just how "big" a day me and my little 339 would have!

First, on Friday morning, I discovered that despite the overnight feeding, my 339 got only an 80% charge! That's barely double the capacity I had before connecting her up!! I guess 339 really got about only 7- or 8-hours of uninterupted feeding the night before. (And no, she didn't trip a circuit while I was sleeping. The UPS would've woke me up if 339 was "fighting" my other "children" for juice in the middle of the night!)

A bit disappointing, but the "range-to-empty" gauge still read "78 miles" -- more than enough power to get me through my commute.

So, I thought.

The first five or so miles were on major (traffic light controlled) local roads, taking my sis to the Jamaica subway terminal. And again, 339 was still all smooth, all quiet. BUT it was a humid day... again! And since neither my sis or I love oppressive "stickiness," the A/C was back on. By the time I dropped sis off, "range-to-empty" dropped to 70-miles.

"Ok," I thought. "Still enough power to get me there and back -- with a 10-mile 'safety net.' And maybe I'll catch some serious re-gen once I get up on the highway."

And the next 30 miles were mostly highway, although I did a small local road detour to pick up a summer college intern who lives nearby.

And here's where the 339 really passed its first test: The "wow factor."

We spent the entire 35-minute ride discussing the "green" factor of the car and how cool it was to be driving/riding a car that "sounded" and acted so high-tech. And since he was a computer science major, we talked a lot about laptops (lithium batteries) and programming -- how "smart" is my Mini that it does all the range calculations... on-the-fly?

Speaking of which... By the time I parked my 339 in the company lot, range-to-empty was just a shocking 32-miles! Huh?

Oh yeah, I forgot how "hilly" some spots are on my daily commuting route. And we ran into a "spot shower" that morning... So, I had to "cycle" the A/C rather than leave it on. (Note to Mini: How come you didn't equip the "E" version with a smart climate control system? One that keeps cabin temperature constant?) But then again, I also had to use the defogger (which uses the A/C, right?) and wipers because we ran into a "spot shower."

Anyway, so there was a real danger that now that I got to work, 339 might -- just might -- leave me and the intern "high and dry." (The irony of this phrase will hit you as you read on.)

I ran into one of our "car guys" (one who knew I was becoming a "pioneer") and explained the situation to him. He hooked me up with one of his "engineers" who was very much interested in seeing my 339. So, after a brief "peek-under-the-hood" -- Sorry, I mean "a peek under 339's bonnet and boot" (boy, that sounds "dirty!" ;-)) -- the engineer says, "Well, if you need a charge, let's see if I can hook you up at the Utility shed."

So, we take 339 all the way to the far end of the parking lot, toward the back of the company property where most of the "support facilities" are located. And my Mini-E finds an outlet and jacks in. (Good thing I packed the 110 charger!)

All is well, I thought... Except after lunch, I find out from the engineer that he had to unplug 339 from the outlet because other engineers had to use the Utilities shed's power. And, I had to move 339 out of Facilities' way. Great...

So, I move 339 back into the employee lot... and as I'm driving (very quiet, again thanks to the all-electric nature of Mini-E) I noticed that practically all the lamp posts in the employee lot have an outdoor outlet!!! Hmmm...

I park 339 near a lamp post at the farthest, most inconspicuous part of the lot. I jump out with the charger and jack in 339. Success!! And I walk away at 3 p.m., happy yet a bit anxious. Will even just 2 hours or so on 110-Volts @ 12 amp give my 339 enough juice to make it home? Or will I be testing the special roadside assistance number?

I lose myself in work, until I noticed the ambient lighting in my office waning. Ut oh... Did the forecasters predict rain today? I hurried to finish my work. But the skies got darker and just as I shut down my computer...

Mini-E field trial 110-volt charging cable plug standard gear Mini-E pioneers battery charger Clipper Creek
This is the plug on the 100-Volt charger that goes into the Mini-E. This thing is GIANORMOUS and looks like something Dr. Frakenstein would've loved! Still, it feels VERY solid (like I could kill somebody with it!) and that's probably a "Good Thing!"
Click to enlarge.

Crash! Boom!! And the skies opened up in a massive summer thunderstorm! And right on cue at 5 p.m.!!! Great...

Oh wait, is the 110-charger water-proof? Will the downpour of water short out the charger? 339? Is the lamp posts properly grounded against lightning? Will I be zapped trying to unplug 339 from the lamp post? How much juice is coming out of that connector into the Mini-E anyway? Will I be safe touching it while standing in, say a flood of rain water?

Well, only one way to find all this out, I thought. That, and why didn't I bring an umbrella into the office today?

A mad dash to the far end of the lot. I'm soaked. I unplug the connector to 339. Good! No mind-numbing, death-inducing electrical shock!! I unplug the other end. Again, no shock. GREAT! I throw everything back into the Mini, unfortunately on top of the battery cover inside -- where you're NOT suppose to put anything. (Safety hazard. If you stop short, anything on top will slam right into your head. Tough. I'm soaked and not gonna stand out in the rain to properly pack everything.)

I call the intern on my cell ("Bring towels... I'm soaked!"), pick him up and off we go.

Range-to-empty: 40 miles. The wipers are slapping out a ten-fold of water... The A/C (defroster, actually) is humming cuz our soaked condition is pumping out the humidity to fog all the 339's windows.

Will we make it home under these conditions?

We hit the highway near work and just five minutes into the commute home... It stops raining!! It even looks like the skies clearing! Even better, it looks like there's not a lot of traffic -- amazing because, typically, once water hits NY-area highways, traffic just comes to a crawl!

The result: I got home, after dropping off the intern, with just 8% battery charge capacity left!! Getting the big red "!" on the dash was not fun. (Practically, "Danger, danger! Warning Will Robinson! Danger, danger!")

Still, 399 "passed." Barely! :-(

In summary:

Talk about having "Range Anxiety!"

Pros:
  • Mini-E 339 is a "head-turner" among the geeks. (Ahhh... My peeps!)
  • Good, quiet near-immediate acceleration on the highway. (Passing cars on the highway was a breeze!)
  • "Stealthy" driving in parking lots
Cons:
  • "Range anxiety"
  • Wiper controls. (Although I suspect if I spent more time reading the manual...)
  • Clunky 110-V charger
Yet undecided:
  • When will I get my 220-Volt wall charger???

Read more!

26 June 2009

Notes of Day 1 with Mini-E-339

I was going to post some of the things I learned from Catherine Clark (CC), who walked me through the particulars of Mini and getting me acquainted with 339 (my 3-3-9!) while we sat in the dealership's garage.

But I figured I better put some thoughts and actual "logbook" type data down now that my very first day with my 339 has come to a close. (And before I forget!)

The numbers, in short

Odometer mileage, start: ~ 30 miles

State of Charge (SoCs), start: 96%

Odometer mileage, end: ~65 miles

State of Charge (SoCe), end: ~44 or 47%

Travelog

Picked up from Mini of Manhattan (58th St. & 11th Ave.) @ approx. 16:00, after 15-min. of paperwork and 45-min. or so of "orientation" -- included several "laps" around the dealership and Manhattan's West Side.

Approx. first 9-10 miles traveled within NYC (inner-city, stop-and-go traffic) -- from dealer to sis' office (near Holland Tunnel) then back to dealer. (Sis has to drive my beloved '97 red Honda CR-V while I drive 339 home.)

339 took potholes well... Even some of the cobblestone streets of the Village, where I ended up thanks to a roundabout detour! How could I forget they closed off Time Square to vehicle traffic!! Even to COOL cars like my Mini-E!!! Grrrr!!!' And not that I don't know the City, but... it's been a while since I drove thru midtown and can't remember which streets go through and which just dead-end. Not having my Garmin didn't help... and note to Mini: You didn't give us GPS (not that we could use!)... Or Bluetooth! (Note to self: "Dialing and driving" is illegal in NYC and there are TOO many traffic cops and NYPDers watching!!)

Speaking of cell phones... Need to be TRIPLY cautious around NYC pedestrians and bikers. Street walkers too busy yapping away to even be aware of noisy internal combustion engine (ICE) cars... Bikers weavin' in and out... Neither will be expecting my 3-3-9, which makes practically NO discernible noise which could serve as awarning -- that is, if they were even paying attention to anything but their own little world...

BTW, I LOVE their startled looks when I accelerate from the stoplight and all "they" hear is the rising "WhhhirrrRRRRRRRL...." noise (see embedded Jay Leno video!) made by the 'lectric motors as they instantly pull me off the line!! (Eat that you jerk in the white Porsche 911 with Florida plates!)



Still, oddly enough, not one pedestrian or onlooker has asked me "What kinda Mini is that?" despite the distinctive (if minimalist) badging -- the stylized "e" plug on the hood ('scuze me, "on the bonnet" as Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear would say!), on the roof and "gas" cover.

Next 30-odd miles, stop-and-go rush hour traffic on BQE, LIE, GCP... Amazingly, car interior VERY quiet despite crawling alongside big diesel tractor trailers and "ricers" with their tricked out, rolling "boom boxes." (Sheeesh... I hope they go deaf when they hit their 30s!) Proof of good sound-insulation, shielding and solid body fit-to-frame in my 339, methinks.

Downside: I feel VERY small -- esp. since it seems like the truckers' tires alone seem "taller" than my Mini-E. Also, making it hard to adjust: I use to be in one of those "high-riders." (Yea, ok... CR-V is only "modestly" taller but seeing my sis behind me... She looked a lot "taller" in the CR-V. She confirmed later: "Weird seeing how your Mini's roof is below my eye-level when I was following you. And it looked like those bigger SUVs would crush you!")

Last 5 or so miles of the day was through local neighborhood, suburbia streets running errands. Again: AMAZINGLY shocked at how quiet the car is on local roads. No radio on, no cars or other traffic on the streets... and all you hear is 339's tires as we roll. A true stealth mobile!! (I'm sure my neighbors would love that for the times I come home late -- as in, "in the oh-dark-30 hours." Hehehehe...)

Noticed how low SoC became. "44 or 48%??? Huh?" Means I'd barely get 60 or 80 miles before 339'd need to limp home!! Oh yeah... Bright sunny day (after DAYS of rain) in NYC, sitting in rush-hour traffic -- With the A/C blasting full on the coldest temp. Yeah... Makes sense.

Plugged into 110-volt with special charger provided. Won't get full 12-hours of charging in. (Plugged in after 8PM... Need the car by 7AM tomorrow...) Let's see how well it goes.

Final thoughts for the day

Pros:
  • Very quiet
  • Feels solid and soaks up bumps, potholes and usual NYC road conditions well
  • Good A/C
  • RDS radio (Love seeing what 'PLJ is playing at the moment)
  • Comfortable seat(s). (I haven't ridden in the passenger seat... yet! ;-))
Cons:
  • "Idiosyncrasies" with the controls. (Why is the main radio volume control lower on the dash, while the knob just under the display is used to control switching between the radio's presets? Huh?)
  • Not "thrilled" with the gianormous "speedo" on the center of the dash. (I don't like to "advertise" how fast I'm going. Also, is the glass face of the gauge polarized? When I wear my polarized sunglasses, I see one nickel-sized black "dot" right in the middle of the LCD line that shows the radio info. :-( )
  • The horn. Sounded a bit wimpy for the car. Also, the steering wheel control for it takes some getting use to?
  • No Bluetooth? Oddly enough, there's a "phone handset" symbol on the dash... Pressing it does nothing... Except give your finger exercise. ;-)
The "Undecided yet" bits
  • Overall exterior/interior styling. Ok, I "get" it's suppose to look like any other Mini. But part of me goes, "But I want other people to see it and go, 'wow, that's different...'" I want acknowledgment that here stands before you something -- and someone! -- "special"... a "one-in-500" kind of special... (#339 of 500, in fact! ;-))

    See my Mini-E... Bow in adoration and acknowledgment of me and my 339's vast technological prowess, our commitment to a better Earth and our overall awesomeness... Love my Mini-E... Love me, dang it!

    That's all I want!! ;-)
LOL!! JUST kidding. (I really am NOT that vain... Really... :-D)
Read more!